Transubstantiation has gluten as an active ingredient

Letter to Bishops on the bread and wine for the Eucharist:

At the request of Pope Francis, the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments is writing to Diocesan Bishops to remind them that it falls to them above all to duly provide for all that is required for the celebration of the Lord's Supper. [...]

"The bread used in the celebration of the Most Holy Eucharistic Sacrifice must be unleavened, purely of wheat, and recently made so that there is no danger of decomposition. It follows therefore that bread made from another substance, even if it is grain, or if it is mixed with another substance different from wheat to such an extent that it would not commonly be considered wheat bread, does not constitute valid matter for confecting the Sacrifice and the Eucharistic Sacrament. It is a grave abuse to introduce other substances, such as fruit or sugar or honey, into the bread for confecting the Eucharist. [...]

"Hosts that are completely gluten-free are invalid matter for the celebration of the Eucharist. Low-gluten hosts (partially gluten-free) are valid matter, provided they contain a sufficient amount of gluten to obtain the confection of bread without the addition of foreign materials and without the use of procedures that would alter the nature of bread" (A. 1-2). [...]

The same Congregation also decided that Eucharistic matter made with genetically modified organisms can be considered valid matter (cf. Letter to the Prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments, 9 December 2013, Prot. N. 89/78 -- 44897).

Previously, previously, previously, previously, previously, previously, previously.

Tags: , ,

12 Responses:

  1. Chas. Owens says:

    How could he be expected to rise without gluten.

    • nooj says:

      baking soda

    • Philip Guenther says:

      Obviously he is what makes the bread rise: Jesus as leavening agent!

      And yes, gluten-free batters can rise just fine. Idli, which are usually made from ground rice and lentils, rise while fermenting before being cooked.

      However, your gluten-free Jesus idea clearly should have been a subplot of the "DaVinci Code", where everyone with celiac disease is actually a descendant of Jesus as he was the original carrier...getting it from his Father's side!

      • MattF says:

        I suppose, though, that a gluten-free Holy Ghost would not be theologically sound.

    • Not Frank says:

      Ironically, the whole idea is that the bread itself does not rise, i.e. is unleavened.

  2. Winston says:

    And on a vaguely related note:

  3. robert_ says:

    ... and as I like to often say to Christians about this sort of thing: "where in the bible does it say this?"

    Then again, most of them have never even read their own holy book - including a Catholic priest who was surprised when I told them Catholics actually have a different ten commandments to Protestants.

    • Anita_Lulu says:

      I am seeking knowledge of the truth found in Adonai's Word. Who can direct me in my journey?

  4. Web Guy says:

    Oh, Catholicism. You so cray cray!

  5. Editer says:

    One church uses high-fiber, low-fat communion wafers called I Can't Believe It's Not Jesus!™

  6. apm74 says:

    The gluten-free preztel sticks I had on a Delta flight the other day tasted like Biscoff cookies. That's a legitimate miracle.

  7. Leonardo Herrera says:

    I love that GMO is ok.

  • Previously