How to delete the "Move to Dropbox" context menu item

It took me a while to figure this out, so here:

    sudo rm -r /Library/DropboxHelperTools/ \
    /Applications/Dropbox.app/Contents/Resources/DropboxHelperInstaller.tgz

Then use Force Quit to restart Finder.

This doesn't seem to affect the operation of the magic ~/Dropbox/ folder.

It comes back sometimes -- possibly whenever Dropbox auto-updates as new version of itself? So you might need to do it again. I put it in cron.

Why:

I upgraded to the new 1Password and it seems to have pulled down a new version of Dropbox as well.

Dropbox, in their infinite wisdom, have decided that your Finder context menu should now have a "Move to Dropbox" menu item right where "Move to Trash" used to be. Not at the bottom with the other Services items, but right up top. Third item on the menu. Where my Trash muscle-memory is.

The technical term for this is "a dick move".

The way you're supposed to add things to that menu is by putting an action in ~/Library/Services/, which puts things at the bottom of the menu, but I guess being at the bottom wasn't enough of a billboard to advertise their app, so instead they did it through some kind of dynamic-loader-injection exploit.

Tags: , ,

20 Responses:

  1. cthulhu says:

    Hmmm...I upgraded to the new 1Password earlier this week, and I didn't get this. Will keep my eyes open though...although I tend to use Path Finder most of the time instead of Finder (Path Finder is one of the best $40 purchases I ever made for my Mac).

    • Lascaille says:

      Herp derp herp derp it didn't happen to me herp derp etc but I am actually using something else herp.

  2. Ryan Steele says:

    The Dropbox client does update itself, and there doesn't appear to be any way to turn this off, so unless you've done some magic to disable auto-updates, it may not have been the 1Password installation which caused the update.

    It looks like Dropbox has released a fix to put the "Move to Dropbox" link below the "Move to Trash" link, but still -- c'mon, Dropbox. At least give us the option to disable this stuff.

    • jwz says:

      The Dropbox client does update itself, and there doesn't appear to be any way to turn this off

      I know, I'll just use Little Snitch to prevent Dropbox from connecting to dropbox.com, and... oh wait...

  3. joe says:

    Dropbox is similarly pushy on Android, it used to show up as "Dropbox" in the share menu, but changed the title to "Add to Dropbox" so it could jump to the top of the list.

  4. Dave says:

    Thank you!

    Just a warning, don't right-click on any item in your dropbox folder. It reinstalls the deleted folder and brings the fucking menu item back.

    • Dave says:

      okay, removing

      /Applications/Dropbox.app/Contents/Resources/DropboxHelperInstaller.tgz

      seems to do the job. It was coming back by itself after a certain amount of time passed, or dropbox was restarted.

      • John Adams says:

        Confirm. That fixes this in dropbox 2.4.4.

        I'd remove the app entirely but I'm dependent on it for syncing to my iPad and other machines.

  5. Jim says:

    Thanks for posting this guys. Truly atrocious behavior on their part

  6. chet farmer says:

    I tried this, but it keeps coming back. Goddammit.

  7. bill says:

    Christ this is irritating. looks as if dropbox have taken a leaf out of skype's book and decided to annoy their users into submission through endless pointless intrusive upgrades which denegrate your user experience.

  8. jwz says:

    Ugh, now it stopped working.

    Anyone have any other ideas?

    • John Adams says:

      rm /Applications/Dropbox.app/Contents/Resources/DropboxHelperInstaller.tgz

      Then force-quit finder. That worked for me.

    • mpontes says:

      Deleting /Library/DropboxHelperTools/DropboxHelperInstaller seems to do the trick, that's how Dropbox escalates privileges (it's a setuid binary).

      I also did sudo chmod a-w /Library/DropboxHelperTools && sudo chflags schg /Library/DropboxHelperTools for good measure (you don't even need to get rid of the privilege escalating binary if you're going down that path, though you might as well).

      The only downside is that the stuff injects the horrible context menu item is the same thing that injects the green badges that shows the sync status of your files and whatnot in the Finder, but I'll live without it.

  9. Adam says:

    Thank you so much!

  10. John Smith says:

    Unfortunately, deleting anything in Dropbox.app in the latest Dropbox versions will trigger the Apple warning along the lines of "Do you want to allow connections to Dropbox" every time Dropbox is started, even if it's already listed as allowed in your firewall prefs. Haven't found a solution for this yet other than clicking Allow each time as needed.